Interface Newshub

2023 Presidency: Tinubu Emerges APC Flag bearer, Leads with 1,271 Votes.

The National leader of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, Ahmed Bola Tinubu has emerged the party’s Presidential Candidate for the 2023 general elections.

The Former Lagos State Governor, who defeated 13 other contenders with a total number of 1, 271 votes to emerge the flag bearer of the party at its Special National Convention in Abuja on Wednesday, has been announced the winner of the APC, primary elections.

About 2,322 delegates from across the country had stormed Eagles Square, Abuja, to elect the flagbearer of the party ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Tinubu garnered half of the total votes to beat his major opponents, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo who scored 235 votes, and the former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi, who secured 316 votes.

The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan got 152 votes while the Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello, scored 47 votes.

With the current development, Tinubu will face the former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, as well as Peter Obi of Labour Party, and other party candidates to battle for the top political office in the forthcoming 2023 elections.

It will be recalled that among all the aspirants who procured the N100 million nomination forms, 23 were successfully screened to participate in the primary.

Result details:

Rotimi Amaechi — 316
Yemi Osinbajo — 235
Ahmad Lawan — 152
Yahaya Bello — 47
Dave Umahi — 38
Ben Ayade — 37
Ahmed Sani — 4
Ogbonnaya Onu — 1
Tunde Bakare — 0
Rochas Okorocha — 0

After President Muhammadu Buhari returned to the arena, Tinubu went to the podium to shake hands with the Commander-in-Chief and his wife, Aisha.

Tinubu who is also way ahead of the Vice President, stopped briefly to shake hands with Osinbajo and exchanged a few words

Related posts

Akoko-Edo Group Boosts Police Morale with N250,000 Donation

Dayo Omoogun

Lassa Fever Cases Hit 81 in Edo, as 10 New Cases Recorded

Dayo Omoogun

FG Receives Committee Report on Sports Development

Dayo Omoogun

Leave a Comment